top of page

What to Do If You Witness Islamophobic Harassment

Informative, illustrated guide for supporting victims of Islamophobic harassment without engaging the attacker. Created by @itsmaeril, a freelance artist & illustrator, living and working in Paris.

"This is an illustrated guide I made as part of my co-admining work at The Middle Eastern Feminist on Facebook! It will be published there shortly. The technique that is displayed here is a genuine one used in psychology - I forgot the name and couldn’t find it again so if you know about it, feel free to tell me! Some could say: “Yes but you can use that technique for instances of harassment other than Islamophobic attacks!”, and my reply is: Sure! Please do so, it also works for other “types” of harassment of a lone person in a public space!! However I’m focusing on protecting Muslims here, as they have been very specific targets lately, and as a French Middle Eastern woman, I wanted to try and do something to raise awareness on how to help when such things happen before our eyes - that way one cannot say they “didn’t know what to do”!"

Recent
Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page